iPhone Travel Photography: 5 Tips and Tricks

All of my travel photos were taken with my iPhone. Unfortunately, I’m one of those people who can’t live without ALL of my photos on my phone for easy access and all those coveted #throwbackthursday posts, which means I have about 12,000 photos currently on my iPhone 6s (thank you 128GB). Listed below are a few tips and tricks to keep in mind when out and about on your next adventure!

1. Landmarks

Popular and touristy landmarks are over photographed. It is easy to find professional photographs that blow any photo you may take with an iPhone out of the water. Try to put your own personal spin on the image. Some ideas include photographing the landmark with a person in the foreground or framing it with something unexpected, like trees. Widening the shot and including the location’s surroundings is another way to add not only to the landmark you are photographing, but the story-telling aspect of travel photos.

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset
Who goes to Paris without snapping a thousand photos of the Eiffel Tower?!

2. Unexpected photo opportunities

Some of my favorite photos are ones I snapped while wandering through different parts of cities. Wandering off the beaten path and finding hidden gems on my strolls made for not only unique travel photos, but very personal and meaningful memories.

I found this quaint and charming house while wandering through the outskirts of Bath, England.
I found this quaint and charming house while wandering through the outskirts of Bath, England.

3. Morning light

One of the best times to get great lighting in a photograph is during the early hours of the morning when the sun is rising. It is also a sure way to experience the city without copious amounts of tourists flocking everywhere.

A quiet morning at Kensington Palace in London
A quiet morning at Kensington Palace in London

4. Editing apps

While the iPhone has HDR and photo editing capabilities, some great photo editing apps that I utilize are Pro HDR X, VSCO, and Snapseed. Out of the three, VSCO is the photo editing app I use with almost every single photo!

One of my favorite images edited with VSCO from Lucerne, Switzerland
One of my favorite images edited with VSCO from Lucerne, Switzerland

5. Filters

Filters can be a great way to add an artistic quality to your travel photos. While I love filters, I usually try to use them to enhance the mood and setting at the time the photo was taken. Filters can easily get away from you and change the picture into something it never was to begin with.

I used a filter on this image to amplify the chilling fog that hung over Prague.
I used a filter on this image to amplify the chilling fog that hung over Prague on a crisp winter day.

While I hope you find these tips simple and easy to implement into your travels, I urge you to get out from behind the camera and experience your travels in the first person! Be focused on making memories, not just documenting them!

-PMP

Leave a Reply

